Liverpool’s Trent Alexander-Arnold and Lionesses Nikita Parris and Jess Carter feature on Football Black List –
Connect with us

Premier League

Liverpool’s Trent Alexander-Arnold and Lionesses Nikita Parris and Jess Carter feature on Football Black List




Liverpool and England ace Alexander-Arnold is among five players included on the annual Football Black List, which highlights trailblazers working across all areas of the game from the black community.

England Lionesses internationals Carter and Parris, as well as Burnley’s Lyle Foster and Bayer Leverkusen’s Jeremie Frimpong, also feature.

Vincent Kompany, one of just two black managers in English top-flight football, newly appointed Port Vale boss Darren Moore, Birmingham City women’s technical director, Hope Powell and Hull City head coach Liam Rosenior make the list too.

Sam Allison and Akil Howson will also be recognised with Cyrille Regis awards for their achievements of becoming the first black match officials in the Premier League since Uriah Rennie in 2008.


The list is decided by a panel of experts with representatives from the Premier League, Professional Footballers’ Association, League Managers’ Association, EFL and anti-racism group Kick It Out.

There are eight categories: administration, coaching and management, commercial, community, players, LGBTQ+, media and practitioners. There is also the Ugo Ehiogu’s Ones To Watch list, which recognises talented, young people in the industry under 30 years of age.

Leon Mann, co-founder of the Football Black List, said: “On the pitch in the Premier League 43% of the players are black, according to the Black Footballers Partnership. But there is an ongoing lack of diversity across all other areas of football – from the boardroom to the dugouts.

“Therefore it is vital we shine a light on the role models leading the way for the next generation to follow into the sport to help address this.”

Fellow co-founder of the initiative, Rodney Hinds, added: “The Football Black List has been endorsed by the black community and that provides a great sense of pride. The growing number of industry supporters is significant and appreciated too. Quite rightly, the Football Black List is about those doing great work within the game, so congratulations to all the awardees. They are inspiring future generations.


“It’s now been 15 years since the start of the Football Black List and that is a massive achievement for all those that have backed the initiative. Myself and Leon are grateful.”

The full Football Black List:


  • Nikita Parris, Manchester United and England
  • Jess Carter, Chelsea and England
  • Trent Alexander-Arnold, Liverpool and England
  • Jeremie Frimpong, Bayer Leverkusen and Netherlands
  • Lyle Foster, Burnley and South Africa

Coaching and management:

  • Hope Powell, Birmingham City
  • Liam Rosenior, Hull City
  • Vincent Kompany, Burnley
  • Nicole Farley, West Ham
  • Darren Moore, Port Vale


  • Helen Campbell, SCC Media
  • Miles Addy, The Content Club
  • Kevin Ramsey, Sky
  • Ade Oladipo, DAZN Boxing and Talksport
  • Seb Hutchinson, Sky Sports


  • Christina Taylor, Aim Sky High Talent
  • Kemi Benjamin, Nike
  • Roscoe Bowman, Squad Sports
  • Ini Umotong, Women’s Football Adidas
  • Kenny Annan-Jonathan, Crystal Palace


  • Eartha Pond, ESP Foundation Charity
  • Abiola Ijasanmi, Confederation of African Football
  • Tony Burnett, Kick It Out
  • Malcolm Kpedekpo, Scottish FA
  • Matthew Ryder KC, Matrix Chambers

Community and Grassroots:

  • Cordell Lake-Benjamin, Palace for Life Foundation
  • Andrew Ducille, BCOMS
  • Billie Graham, Arsenal in the Community
  • Richard Taiwo, ESOL teacher and coach
  • Solomon Paul, Highfield Rangers


  • Ifeanyi Odogwu, Premier League Judicial Panel
  • Anika Leslie-Walker, Manchester FA Inclusion Advisory Board
  • Marcus Gayle, Brentford
  • Fern Whelan, PFA
  • Kerry Downes, Luton Town FC Community Trust


  • Caz Simone, Huddersfield Town Women

Ugo Ehiogu’s ones to watch:

  • Keah Forino-Joseph, The FA
  • Josh Booth-Sawyerr, Ten Toes
  • Olivia Portas, BBC Sport
  • Khadidia Timera, FIFA Dispute Resolute Chamber
  • William Bitibiri, Down The Wings

Cyrille Regis Award:

  • Sam Allison, Premier League
  • Akil Howson, Premier League
Source :